Tom Hanks’ Uncommon Type coming to a bookstore near you


 

SO I was enthralled to hear that Tom Hanks was coming to London to sign his new book Uncommon Type: Some Stories (416p, William Heinemann, £16.99) on 2 November 2017 at the event at Waterstones. Uncommon Type is a collection of seventeen wonderful short stories and I can’t wait to get hold of a copy. Note to self: best decision ever was to move to London. No-one important ever comes to Denmark. He’s also appearing at Southbank Centre’s London Literature Festival, in collaboration with Penguin Live in Tom Hanks in conversation: Uncommon Type on 1 November 2017, though tickets have long sold out. I’m sad I did not manage to get one. I’ve already ordered a signed copy online from Waterstones, but to get a chance to meet Tom Hanks in person for another signed copy, well is not one that I intend to miss. And what’s more he collects typewriters.

Tom Hanks 960 x 500

Tom Hanks in conversation, live at the Southbank Centre’s London Literature Festival

TomHankswithTypewriters

Tom Hanks and his typewriters. Notice the beautiful burgendy Olympia SM4, left.

I’m a big, and I mean BIG, Tom Hanks fan, if you don’t know that already. He’s an actor, director, two-time Oscar winner, typewriter collector (have you downloaded his app Hanx Writer?), and is now venturing into writing. Here are a couple of more pictures of Uncommon Type:

A16H8EsFI-L81Qs3Rm5yvL91dp8BZdUkL91NuF1ddFPL61MJX2al1eL

Tom Hanks’ films have been a big part of my childhood growing-up. My first Tom Hanks film was Splash (1984). I still remember watching it on television in the late 80s, start 90s as a kid, being mesmerised by the film. I mean, yes Daryl Hannah is amazing and blonde, but who doesn’t like mermaids—these beautiful, mythical creatures that partly innocently seduce, and partly seem so intriguing, that humanlike beings can live and breath under water. I wanted desperately to meet one.

My favourite film, although very difficult to pick, has to be without doubt Big (1988). Tom Hanks plays Josh Baskin, a 13-year-old boy who makes a wish “to be big”—a wish that comes true.

MPW-32791

Big (1988) Movie Poster. Source: movieposter.com

A highly entertaining film, I still remember how over the moon with joy I was watching the scene where Tom Hanks and Robert Loggia play the step “walking” keyboard.

big

The film made such a big impression on me at the time, that watching it nearly 30 years later, still conjures the same feelings. How surreal it felt watching this with my now nine-year old niece, about the same age as I was, her amazement at the premise of a child’s wish to grow-up coming true and the serious yet complicated lifestyles and choices of being a grown-up (if adulthood was only that simple that you could get a luxurious apartment and high-paid job). Nonetheless, I’m sure it’s a film that will stay in her mind for the next 30 years. I know Top Gun (1986) does. Just yesterday she quoted “I feel the need, the need for speed”, after having watched it over a year ago.

Top Gun / Top Gun

Top Gun (1986) starring Tom Cruise. Source: Spiegel.de

But Big is so much more. Who didn’t dream about having, the walking keyboard, a spacious luxury apartment, being Vice President of some multinational corporation, the Pepsi vending machine (Coca Cola fan here), and a trampoline? I am even dreaming of customising it by adding a Space Invaders arcade machine.

Though Big is a timeless film, it’s not only my favourite. We’re talking about Tom Hanks here, all his films are amazing; who can forget Sleepless in Seattle (1993), with the gorgeous Meg Ryan; Philadelphia (1993); where Hanks won his first Academy Award for Best Actor, followed by a second Academy Award for the unforgettable performance in Forrest Gump (1994), “Run, Forest, Run!”

image1_jpeg

Forrest Gump (1994). Forrest Gump running. Do you every feel like doing the same?

Apollo 13 (1995), was a film, being a space enthusiast and Tom Hanks fan at the age of 12, I was lucky enough to watch when it premiered at the Odeon, Leicester Square, London back in 1995 with my late father. My father and I went on a short holiday trip to London, staying at the now long gone but brilliant Regent Palace Hotel in Piccadilly Circus, and offered to take me to the cinema. A time that I fondly remember.

And who can forget Spielberg’s Saving Private Ryan (1998), a film worthy of watching on the big screen with surround sound, a cinematic experience like none other; and what about the generation-changing Pixar’s Toy Story (1995), with Woody and the dramatic “You! Are! A! Toy!”, a film that has been in hearts of so many kids growing up in the 90s.

ToyStory1261.jpg

Toy Story (1995), “You! Are! A! Toy!”. Source: Oh My Disney.

Cast Away (2000), was a beautiful survival film that I love to rewatch, especially because I really like Helen Hunt. She’s blonde, okay? I know so is Meg Ryan and Daryl Hannah. Who can forget the moment Hanks cries out “WILSON” and the scene that changed my outlook on life when I was personally struggling:

“I know what I have to do now. I gotta keep breathing. Because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?” — Cast Away (2000)

castaway-wilson

Captain Phillips (2013), is a favourite of not only mine (not only just because it’s a Danish shipping-container company Maersk) but a favourite of my niece and my mother too, a film she had been waiting to see. The famous: “Look at me; Look at me; I’m the captain now” sends shivers down the spine, whilst the ending scene where Philips, in shock and trauma, is being treated by a doctor after his rescue, is a hard one not to forget. Sully (2016), a film about the “Miracle on the Hudson River”, was a very moving film. I felt drawn into the film and Hanks is such a talented actor that he makes you go through a rollercoaster ride of emotions. It’s an absolute favourite.

Another film on the list is The Da Vinci Code (2006). It’s all about Tom here; he carries the movie and franchise. It’s such a joy to watch him, though I’m not too bothered about all that Da Vinci Code stuff. Bridge of Spies (2015) was an excellent film, and working as a paralegal, I felt the connection to the law and the aspect of justice much stronger—a notion that sadly erodes in the third year of law school. Working in the city, you do sometimes loose the common touch but integrity has always been and will be important to me. The “standing man” comparison and ”Aren’t you worried?”, and Rudolf Abel’s reply: “Would that help?” are mesmerising.

And lastly who can forget the impressive Cloud Atlas (2012), a film so indescribably beautiful and awe-inspiring that at moments I was left speechless:

“Fear, belief, love — phenomena that determined the course of our lives. These forces begin long before we are born and continue after we perish”.

Cloud-Atlas-Tom-Hanks

So will you be buying a copy of Uncommon Type as well and what is your all-time favourite Tom Hanks film? Leave a comment below.