New Faber Members Collectors’ Edition of Seamus Heaney available

w628_6064043_heaney10emailFaber & Faber has just announced the publication of their latest Faber Members Collectors’ Edition: Seamus Heaney’s New Selected Poems 1966–1987. This is the second Collectors’ Edition after The Buried Giant by Kazou Ishiguro that I covered in an earlier post. This looks absolutely wonderful. The price is £50.

Faber — “Our latest Collectors’ Edition presents Seamus Heaney’s own selection from the first half of his extraordinary career. Sewn and bound by hand in Yorkshire, and with a first impression of only 400 copies, this edition is exclusive to Faber Members.

From the outset, Seamus Heaney’s writing was ‘mature and certain in its touch’, as Austin Clarke conferred in the Irish Times, throughout a run of epoch-making volumes in the 1960s and ’70s: Death of a Naturalist (1966), Door into the Dark (1969), Wintering Out (1972) and North (1975). The bravura pieces of Field Work (1979) and Station Island (1984) that followed culminated in the Whitbread Prize for Poetry with The Haw Lantern (1987).

Since its original publication in 1990, New Selected Poems 1966-1987 has become a seminal edition, containing many of Seamus Heaney’s most cherished and studied poems, ‘Digging’, ‘Mid-Term Break’, ‘The Tollund Man’ and ‘Casualty’ among them. Together with its later, sibling volume, New Selected Poems 1988-2013, it opens the story on Seamus Heaney’s calling as a poet.”

_p3m9934Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 14.06.45 Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 14.06.55 Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 14.07.06


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s