Don’t judge a book by its cover


I really enjoy browsing for book cover illustrations; there is something special when illustrations can create a bond between it and the viewer, stirring up emotional attachment; some entirely mesmerizing; some unique, while others outright thought-provoking. Although I am aware of the idiom: “don’t judge a book by its cover”, I naturally reach for books with striking covers. Well, there is no shame in enjoying a well made and illustrated book.

My aim is in this post to include book cover illustration as I discover them. I will try to uncover the meaning of the cover llustrations as I interpret them, irrespective of the content of the book. So without further ado, I welcome you to join me to enjoy the little pleasures in life.

» The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman (Illustration by La Bocca)
The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman
Comment: I like the art deco feel of the cover which is in perfect harmony with the young women’s raised head. The layers act as a field of curiosity, inviting the reader to unfold the hidden depths of secrets of this women. Her closed eyes and raised outlook denotes her aristocratic presence, independence and exteme beauty.

About Faisel K

Lost faith, went to law school, then to Japan, became a Buddhist, blah, blah, blah. Read More?
This entry was posted in Book Covers, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

